Beamond End, Holmer Green, Hyde Heath,
Little Kingshill and Little Missenden

Council Services

A Simple Guide to Council Services

Local government can appear to be very complex. This section explains how local government works in broad terms and who is responsible for the provision of various services.


In the United Kingdom, government is multi-layered. Central government is concerned with high level issues such as the overall management of law and policing, defence, foreign policy and ‘balancing the books’ through the Exchequer. Central government also determines strategy and establishes guidelines for the provision of an enormous range of public services that are then delegated to Local Authorities.

The following information shows where various responsibilities lay:

Buckinghamshire County Council

Bucks County Council  is responsible for:

Business  - Directory. Selling to the Council. Trading Standards.
Community -  Births, Marriages and Deaths. Community safety. Emergency planning.
Education - Adult learning. Early years and childcare. Schools. Young people.
Environment -  Planning. Rights of Way. Waste, recycling and treatment.
Leisure & Culture - Libraries. Local History. Museums. Parks.
Social Care - Adoption. Adults. Children and families. Fostering.
Transport & Streets - Bus timetables. Public transport. Road Safety. Roadworks.

Little Missenden Parish has three County Councillors who stand for election every four years. The present County Councillor for Holmer Green is Isobel Darby. For Little Missenden and Little Kingshill is Peter Martin and for Hyde Heath is Patricia Birchley. See the contacts page for their information.

Chiltern District Council

Chiltern District Council is responsible for:

Business Information - Business finance. Business and street trading licences. Health & Safety.

Community & Living Information - Neighbourhood and village. Faiths, beliefs and religions. Life Events. Community grants. Community Safety

Environment Information - Animal welfare. Planning. Rubbish, waste and recycling. Pests and Information nuisances. Street care and cleaning. Energy. Land and premises. Pollution. Town centre management. Food production and quality.

Health & Social Care  -  Health and medical care. Disabilities.

Housing Information

Legal Services Information - Freedom of Information. Local Land Charges.

Leisure & Culture Sports Information Arts & Entertainment -  Young people’s activities. Hobbies and interests. Tourism and travel.

Policing & Public Safety information  - Accidents, emergencies and safety. Victim support. Crime and Law Enforcement.

Transport & Streets Information - Motor vehicles, roads and parking. Public transport.

Council, government & democracy Information  - Councils. Democratic processes and events. Public services.

Little Missenden Parish has three District Councillors who stand for election every four years.

The present District Councillors for Holmer Green are Michael Smith and Mark Titterington. For Little Missenden, Little Kingshill and Hyde Heath is Diana Varley. See the contacts page for their information.

Little Missenden Parish Council

Little Missenden Parish Council is responsible for:


Holmer Green  - Beech Tree Road
Holmer Green - Earl Howe Road//Hogg Lane
Hyde Heath  - Brays Green Lane
Little Kingshill  - Windsor Lane
Little Missenden -  Highmore Cottages

Play & Recreation Areas 

Holmer Green -  The Common
Hyde Heath - The Common
Little Kingshill  - Windsor Lane
Little Kingshill - Meadow Cottages
Little Missenden  - Village Centre
Little Missenden - Pipers Wood

Hedge & Grass Cutting - At all allotments, all Commons and Recreation areas including all trees thereon.

Bus Shelters In all villages.

Street Lighting Low level (up to 5m high) lighting columns in Holmer Green.

Little Missenden Parish Council is consulted about planning applications and routinely makes comments but has no responsibility for the final decisions made. Generally planning approval lies with Chiltern District Council although, on occasions, the authority may rest with Bucks County Council. There are various levels of appeal if permission is not granted.

Contacts for matters which do not fall under the responsibility of the Parish Council are:

High Level Street Lighting, Roads and Footpaths:

Bucks County Council

You can stay up-to-date with transport news by ‘liking’ Transport for Buckinghamshire on Facebook or following @TfBalerts on Twitter. However, please remember to use the website to report road defects including potholes, verges etc. to TfB at 

In an emergency please call : 01296 382416 (9am-5.30pm Mon-Thurs 9am-5pm Friday) or 01296 486630 (out of hours and weekends).

Dog Fouling/Litter/Fly Tipping/Abandoned Vehicles

Please click on this link for information on these topics.

Trading Standards:

Buckinghamshire and Surrey Trading Standards - Joint Service

County Hall
Buckinghamshire HP20 1UP