Little Missenden

The village name "Missenden" is Anglo Saxon in origin and means "valley where marsh plants grow". In the Doomsday Book of 1086 was recorded as Missedene and is clearly identifiable by two hides owned between three landlords. One of these hides belonging to the Count of Mortain (around town farm) expanded after Domesday to become the Manor of Holmer whence the village of Holmer Green was born.

Like much of Little Missenden village, the Saxon village church, the Parish Church of St. John the Baptist was built next to the river Misbourne. The Church was extended in several stages over at least 1,000 years, the oldest part being built circa 975AD. Some remarkable ancient wall paintings can still be viewed inside the church on the north wall.

The main London-Aylesbury road used to run through the centre of Little Missenden and past the two public houses - The Red Lion and The Crown. In the early 19th Century a new "by-pass" road was built to the north and this now forms the A413

The village has been used in many films and TV programmes over the years, particularly as one of the more regular Midsomer Murders filming locations. Despite being a small and quaint old village, in recent times it has hosted acclaimed comedy and arts festivals.

As well as the church, and two pubs, the village is served by the Church of England Infant School, Montessori Little Scholars and the village hall.

In addition the River Misbourne (natural perched chalk stream) runs the entire length of the village and the village has a unique children's playground. Both The Crown and The Red Lion PH's offer B&B whilst the church serves cream teas through the summer months on Sunday afternoons.